Friday is For Finding Fossils

Friends are the siblings god forgot to give us
Judith. Baxter, Blogger, Grandmother and Friend
1938 –

Way back on February 12, 2016 I praised technology – that was the first time I had a face to face encounter with my partner in crime (at least on the blogosphere)., Chris from Bridges Burning. Of course since then we connect talk and see each weekly and more often if necessary.

We now know all about each others family. I have waved and said hello to her sisters, brother and sister in law. and in turn, she has sad hello to my daughter and daughter in law here in New Zealand. She has connected with a sister In London but as yet, only on Messenger.

So is the next step to meet in the real world. Wouldn’t that be magical? I do regularly buy a lottery ticket, but so far, without success.

Since I started blogging in March 2011, I have had the chance on two occasions to meet up with a blogging friend. On a visit to London to catch up with my sister. we made trip to Oxford where SallyAnn from Photographic Memories lived at that time. We had a fine time seeing the places that only someone who lives there could know about. And in March 2020, immediately before we all became locked down, Lois from Write Along With Me came to Wellington on cruise ship. It was only a one day stopover but we had a short visit. Great to have met these two blogging buddies.

Many and varied are the fossils from my blogging journey,

In January 2012 my late sister in Los Angeles, directed me to a post from my other sister of choice, Dor at Virginia Views. Together we reminisced about an oil heater that we had in our house when we were growing up, and Dor had the exact same heater in hers. Do you want to read that post?

I have written often about our lovely city -Dubbed ‘the coolest little capital in the world’ by Lonely Planet. And you really can’t beat Wellington on a good day, when there is no sign of the Windy Wellington so well known to those of us who live here. In February 2016 I wrote about an almost perfect day with a friend who is no longer with us.

I have talked, mused, thought about ageing. Well, as I rapidly approach my 84th birthday I surely must. In June 2020 I wrote a post I Am Not Old which says much about what I was thinking two years ago.

And if you are still with me at the end of this post, with so very many links, I have to say I will keep on making memories and posting about them until….

“I will most definitely be outrageous, difficult and undignified,
but not until I am old.”
Judith Baxter, Blogger, Mother, Sister, Grandmother and friend.
1938 –

JB February 11, 2022

JB February 11, 2022

12 thoughts on “Friday is For Finding Fossils”

  1. I have only just read the post but I will keep it open so that I can read the links when I have a moment. we went to romefor three days and i have 400 messages that I have to see to in my email. So far I have despatched about a hundred, so here goes. luckily it is my husbands birthday today and we are going out so I don not have to cook!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment