Get a Scooter

I was on the way out to our book group Wine and Crime; we discuss crime books we have read and quietly enjoy some wine and nibbles. Anyway, on Thursday as I was leaving I saw my neighbour clipping back the overgrowth on the side of the joint driveway. He’s very good at doing those things.

“I just saw Cate (my daughter) going out on her electric bike” he said. “She looks very good on it.” I replied with the comment that if I were ten years younger, I would get one too. With which he responded “Get a scooter”

Photo -Getty images.

My immediate response was only old people use those. But he quickly assured me that he wasn’t thinking of an old woman’s scooter, but of a Vespa.

Thanks, I will stick to my car while I can still drive.

It’s amazing to me just what people think of. Where did his idea of a Vespa come from? And how dangerous would an elderly/old woman be in town scooting around on a Vespa.

Now, what else am I thinking of today?

I have written often about growing older and how I am enjoying the pleasures of this time. I have given followers. friends, and family Fair Warning how I will be in my ‘old age’

Anther post covered The Busy Years In that I talked about managing my life, my family’s life, my home and doing all the things that needed to be done by a busy wife and mother.

Today, the only thing on the to do list is to meet a friend for our regular Saturday lunches. That’s so very different from the busy years. And it is real freedom. So look forward to enjoying life into your eighties as I am.

“I will most definitely be outrageous, difficult and undignified,
but not until I am old.”
Judith Baxter, Blogger, Mother, Sister, Grandmother,
and friend.
1938 –

JB 19/02/2022

11 thoughts on “Get a Scooter”

  1. Made me smile a lot. My mother used to have a scooter. As a teen, I would race up and down our short driveway on it, wishing for the months to pass so I could get my motorcycle licence, which I did two years later. We had a horrible neighbour – snobbish and nasty with a poodle that barked for a living. With one sweep of the scooter I could annoy the hell out of them both! Eventually my mum would come out and ‘wag the finger’…
    I still have a motorbike; used only on those balmy evenings when I drive in the golden light to one of nearby lakes with my flask of coffee and bit of chocolate. When I’m very old I want a GTI electric old-people’s scooter in bright red. I’m, going to have ‘Ducati’ painted on the tank…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment