A New Favourite

You will have read Chris’s post How The Light Gets In. I too am a great fan of Louise Penny and her Ganache character and all the other people who live in that lovely little village – Three Pines.

I have read and listened to all her books and am eagerly awaiting the next one. But..

I have now discovered another author who is currently pushing Louise aside to become my favourite. Michael Robotham.

Quite by accident, I came across The Suspect. I was absolutely fascinated by the protagonist Clinical Psychologist, Joe O’Loughlin. In that book, he has just discovered that he has Parkinson’s and is trying to come to grips with it. while helping in a murder investigation he becomes the chief suspect. Fascinating reading. I am about to write a review on one of my other blogs in which I write book reviews. I later discovered this was book one in a nine-book series.

The next book I picked up was The Other Wife. That is reviewed on my other site. This was even more exciting than The Suspect. Totally unputdownable (that word again). That is book nine in the series.

Then on a visit to the library to return the books, I discovered Close Your Eyes. Book eight in the series. As soon as I finish this post I am going to make another cup of tea and sit and finish this book. It’s cold and wet outside today. What an excuse to do nothing.

I am totally in awe of Michael Robotham this Australian author. After many years during which he wrote for newspapers and magazines in Australia, Britain and America, he decided to quit and became a ghostwriter, collaborating with an extensive range of well-known and maybe not so-well-known “politicians, pop stars, psychologists, adventurers and show business personalities to write their autobiographies”.

There is another series which I haven’t looked into yet. The protagonist this time is Cyrus Haven. But that is for another post.

And at the end of his Meet Michael page we read –

Michael lives on Sydney’s northern beaches,
where he thinks dark thoughts in his  ‘cabana of cruelty – 
a name bestowed by his three children (now grown up), who happily poke fun at the man who has fed, clothed and catered to their every expensive whim. Where is the justice?

Back in a couple of days with more meandering through the neighbourhood of this ancient mind.

JB June 19, 2022

13 thoughts on “A New Favourite”

  1. I’m going to have to jettison most of the books on my shelves to make room for the new books that keep appearing – but how to make that selection? It’s like Sophie’s Choice!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment